Being accused or charged with a crime, felony or misdemeanor, can have serious, life-altering effects. Most of the time, a conviction will remain on your criminal record permanently, and any background check completed by a potential employer or other authority will divulge that information.
Although misdemeanors are less severe than felonies, a conviction can still lead to severe penalties, and you may even have to endure adverse effects on your life. For certain misdemeanors, these penalties can include jail time.
No matter what crime you have been accused of, it is integral that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in Ohio to prepare the best possible defense for your case.
What Is a Misdemeanor?
Generally speaking, a misdemeanor is considered a lower-level offense in Ohio and, therefore, a misdemeanor conviction carries with it lesser penalties than felony charges. Misdemeanors range from “minor” (least serious degree) to “first degree” (most serious) criminal charges and traffic violations, and sentences vary depending on the severity of the crime.
Criminal defense lawyers cover a wide variety of cases. In Ohio, misdemeanors include but are not limited to: disorderly conduct, DUI, driving under suspension, shoplifting, theft, vandalism, criminal trespassing, menacing by stalking, assault, domestic violence, most traffic violations, and public indecency.
Penalties for Misdemeanors in Ohio
There are five levels of misdemeanor categorization in Ohio: minor, fourth degree, third degree, second degree, and first degree. Depending on the level of crime you have been convicted with, your sentence will range in severity, and the sentencing judge may also add to or subtract from the standard punishments as he or she sees fit.
Multiple convictions of the same level of a misdemeanor may result in a more severe penalty (two second degree convictions may result in penalties for a first-degree misdemeanor upon the third conviction).
In general, the punishments for the five levels of misdemeanors in Ohio are as follows:
- Minor Misdemeanor: up to $150 fine
- Fourth Degree Misdemeanor: up to $250, max 30 day jail time
- Third Degree Misdemeanor: up to $500, max 60 day jail time
- Second Degree Misdemeanor: up to $750, max 90 day jail time
- First Degree Misdemeanor: up to $1000, max 180 day jail time
If you or a loved one has been charged with a misdemeanor in Cincinnati, Ohio, call a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible for the best possible chance of having your charges dismissed or reduced.
Contact Our Cincinnati, Ohio, Criminal Defense Firm for a Free Consultation
At Joslyn Law Firm, we are dedicated to defending Cincinnati residents accused or charged with misdemeanor crimes, and we work tirelessly for the best possible outcome.
We understand how stressful and frightening it can be to go through the criminal justice process, so we customize our defense strategy for each client to help them incur the fewest possible consequences, if any. Call us today to schedule a free, confidential consultation to discuss your case and find out more about your legal options.