Underage OVI/OVUAC In Cincinnati Ohio
The National Minimum Drinking Age Act of 1984 compelled every state to adopt 21 as the legal age to purchase, possess, and ingest alcoholic beverages. Ohio is considered a zero-tolerance state for minors who allegedly drink and drive.
While motorists under 21 years of age can be charged with the traditional charge of operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol (OVI) if they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher, minors can also be charged with operating a vehicle after underage alcohol consumption (OVUAC) for BAC levels that are less than 0.08, but greater than 0.02.
Underage OVI Lawyer In Hamilton County
If your child was arrested in Hamilton County for drunk driving, it is critical for you to seek legal counsel immediately. Joslyn Criminal Defense Law Firm’s DUI attorneys in Cincinnati will fight to protect your child’s future.
Hamilton County OVUAC Information Center
- What Is An Underage OVI Charge?
- What Happens If This Is A Subsequent OVUAC Offense?
- Where Can I Learn More About Underage Drinking And Driving?
A minor driving with a BAC of 0.08 or higher can face a traditional OVI charge, classified as a first-degree misdemeanor in Cincinnati, Ohio. First-degree misdemeanors are typically punishable by up to 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or jail time and a fine.
However, if a minor is driving with a BAC under 0.08 but above 0.02, the alleged offender will be charged with an OVUAC. An OVUAC is a fourth-degree misdemeanor in Ohio, punishable by up to 30 days in jail, fines up to $250, or both, and a driver’s license suspension for 90 days up to two years. They may not have driving privileges for 60 days after the arrest.
For minors to regain their driving privileges, they may be required to file for financial responsibility insurance, pay a reinstatement fee of $475, and possibly retake the driver’s license exam. Additionally, alleged offenders can also be required to complete a remedial driving instruction program or a juvenile driver improvement program if they are under 18 years of age when they are convicted.
If a minor is arrested for a second or subsequent drunk driving offense in Ohio, the penalties become more severe with each offense. Whereas an initial OVUAC charge is classified as a fourth-degree misdemeanor, second and subsequent offenses are considered third-degree misdemeanors. Additionally, OVUAC offenses can result in up to 60 days in jail, a fine of $500, or both. Moreover, the minor’s driver’s license will be suspended for one year and up to five years, with no driving privileges for 60 days after the arrest.
New Direction Treatment Services – The mission of the New Direction Treatment Services is to provide the Greater Cincinnati Area with new and different types of addiction services tailored to meet each client’s individual needs.
New Direction Treatment Services
1612 Chase Ave
Cincinnati, Ohio 45223
Phone: (513) 541-7111
Hamilton County Resource Guide – This guide from the Hamilton County Mental Health and Recovery Services Board (MHRSB) provides information about substance abuse services and resources available in Hamilton County. You can learn more about child and adolescent services, crisis intervention services, outpatient programs, and residential or inpatient programs in the area.
Hamilton County Mental Health and Recovery Services Board
2350 Auburn Ave, Ste 1
Cincinnati, Ohio 45219
Phone: (513) 946-8600
We Don’t Serve Teens │ Consumer Information – “We Don’t Serve Teens” is a national campaign of the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) to reduce underage drinking. On this website, you can learn what you need to know about underage drinking, what can happen to teens who drink, and steps you can take to reduce teen access to alcohol. You can also find a section that answers some common questions and assertions people ask or make about teen drinking.
Joslyn Criminal Defense Law Firm │ Hamilton County OVI Lawyer
If you or a loved one is dealing with an OVI charge, take steps to ensure that it does not follow you for the rest of your life. Contact Joslyn Criminal Defense Law Firm by calling (513) 399-6289 or online to schedule a risk-free confidential consultation with attorney Brian Joslyn.