Sexual Imposition

Forcing or deceiving someone or multiple people into sexual contact is illegal in Ohio. When penetration doesn’t occur and the crime consists of fondling, molesting or touching of an erogenous zone of another person it’s referred to as sexual imposition. Sexual imposition is a serious crime in Ohio and can result in severe penalties. 

In some cases, a sexual imposition charge arises from a simple misunderstanding. Other cases involve violence, force or deception to coerce a person into sexual contact. No matter the circumstances, it’s important you’re prepared. If you or someone you know has been charged with a sex crime, it’s imperative you seek a trusted criminal defense attorney.

Cincinnati Attorneys for Sexual Imposition in Ohio

Sex crimes are incredibly serious and can lead to harsh criminal penalties. This includes sexual imposition and gross sexual impositions. If you’re convicted, you could be burdened with steep fines and even face time in jail or prison. To avoid these penalties, we recommend you secure experienced legal representation.

Call Joslyn Law Firm to get in contact with a defense attorney with years of knowledge practicing in Ohio’s criminal courts. We can assist you by crafting a sturdy defense for your case. Call us now at (513) 399-6289 to set up your first consultation free today. Joslyn Law Firm accepts clients throughout the greater Hamilton County area such as Blue Ash, Cleves, Springdale, Norwood and Cincinnati.

Overview of Sexual Imposition in Ohio  


Elements of Sexual Imposition in Ohio

Sexual imposition isn’t considered a rape or sexual assault charge. Instead it’s reserved for offenders who force or coerce another person into unwanted sexual contact or to engage in sexual contact with another person. The term “sexual contact” is referred to as any touching of the erogenous zone of another such as thighs, pubic region, genitals or breast. 

A person is guilty of sexual imposition if they have sexual contact with another or cause two or more people to participate in sexual contact in any of the following scenarios:

  • The offender goes through with the act even though they have knowledge that the sexual contact is offensive to the other person;
  • One of the victims doesn’t have the ability to resist the offender’s control or they are incapable to understand what is taking place;
  • The offender understands the victim or one of the victims submitted because they are unaware of sexual contact;
  • The victim is 13 years old or older, but younger than 16 and the offender is 18 or at least four years older than the victim and is aware of their age gap throughout the act;
  • The offender is a mental health professional and induces the patient into sexual contact under the guise that it’s necessary for their mental health treatment

Back to top

Penalties for Sexual Imposition Under Ohio Law

Sexual imposition is a crime that carries harsh penalties. Committing sexual imposition on another person is considered a third-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. If you have any of the following prior convictions, then your charges will be enhanced to a first-degree misdemeanor: 

  • Rape;
  • Sexual battery;
  • Unlawful sexual conduct with a minor; or
  • Gross sexual imposition 

A first-degree misdemeanor can lead to up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Having three or more prior convictions will result in a mandatory jail term of up to one year. It’s important to note a person cannot be convicted of sexual imposition on testimony alone. 


Back to top

Sex Offender Registration as a Penalty in Ohio

Depending on the circumstances, the judge may court order you to register as a sex offender as an added consequence to the crime. Sex offenders face substantial hardship when faced with employment or housing opportunities. The label can damage personal relationships and failing to register in a timely manner will result in serious penalties.

 If you’re convicted of sexual imposition, you will be labeled as a Tier I sex offender. You will be obligated to register for 15 years and you must re-register annually to avoid potential consequences. You may have to disclose your location to the community if you’re a Tier I sex offender. In addition, the general public can access your status through a background check or by using the sex offender registry.


Back to top

Additional Resources 

RAINN – Visit the official website for the Rape, Abuse and Incest Network (RAINN) a non-profit organization committed to fighting the problem of sexual assault and abuse. Visit the site to read their research, statistics on sexual violence and read inspiring survivors stories.

Ohio’s Sexual Imposition Laws – Visit the official website for Ohio Laws and Rules to learn more about their sexual imposition statute. Access the site to read the elements of the crime, the penalties and find other related sex crimes by using the search bar provided.  


Back to top

Sexual Imposition Attorney in Hamilton County, OH

Have you been accused of coercing someone into sexual contact? If so, it’s important you are prepared for what may come next. Sexual imposition is a serious charge with life-changing penalties. Protect yourself by hiring effective legal representation from Joslyn Law Firm. 

The attorneys at Joslyn Law Firm have years of experience defending people accused of sex crimes. We can utilize our skills and defense techniques to assist you. Call us now at (513) 399-6289 to set up your first consultation completely free. Joslyn Law Firm represents people throughout the greater Cincinnati area including Cleves, Harrison, Blue Ash, Norwood and Forest Park.


Back to top

This article was last updated on July 25, 2019.